The Ruskell Medal

In 2001, WCSM introduced a bronze medal (now designated the Ruskell Medal in memory of the late Professor (and Liveryman) Gordon Ruskell) and a purse of £750 to encourage new research to contribute to the advancement of our understanding of vision and our ability to overcome threats to it by publishing the results of their recent work.

The Ruskell Medal is awarded each year to the first-named author of the best paper in the fields of ophthalmology or visual science for studies undertaken within the United Kingdom and published during the qualifying period, regardless of his or her status or how long he or she has been working in the chosen field. The qualifying period runs from 1 July in the year before the competition is announced to 30 June in the year when the award will be made.

The 2018 Ruskell Medal was awarded jointly to Professor Lyndon da Cruz and Professor Pete Coffey for their work on gene therapy for age-related macular degeneration (AMD). Their research has resulted in development of innovative stem-cell therapy which could have a significant impact in reversing some forms of AMD.

The Masters Medal

A further Bronze award, the Master's Medal, with a purse of £750, is designed to encourage the publication of research by those working towards a doctorate or higher degree in any aspect of vision ie optometrists, ophthalmologists and scientists working in the field of optics and vision science, whose first research paper has been accepted for publication in a refereed scientific journal, or presented publicly at a national or international meeting during the qualifying period.

The 2018 Master’s Medal was won by Dr Lindsay Rountree, of Aston University for her paper “Optimising the glaucoma signal/noise ratio by mapping changes in spatial summation with area-modulated perimetric stimuli”. This was a first publication, undertaken during research for her doctorate at the University of Cardiff. This work will make a major contribution to diagnosis in glaucoma.

Bronze Medals 2017

The 2017 Ruskell Medal was awarded to Geraint Williams PhD FRCOphth, a consultant ophthalmologist working with a team at the University of Birmingham, for his paper on developing a predictor for scarring in ocular mucous membrane pemphigoid, a blinding form of conjunctivitis.

The Master's Medal for 2017 was awarded to Deanna Taylor, of City, University of London, for her paper “Searching for Objects in Everyday Scenes: Measuring Performance in People With Dry Age-Related Macular Degeneration” – an assessment of the real life impact of dry age-related macular degeneration.

Bronze Medals 2016

Dr Jasmina Cehajic Kapetanovic won the Ruskell Medal in 2016 for her work at the University of Manchester/ Manchester Royal Eye Hospital. She is now an NIHR Academic Fellow in Vitreo-Retinal Surgery in Oxford, working within the Clinical Ophthalmology Research Group of Professor Robert MacLaren.
The Master's Medal for 2016 was awarded to Corinne Fulcher who has since completed her PhD at the University of Bradford.

Bronze Medals 2015

The 2015 Ruskell Medal was awarded to Professor James Bainbridge, already a winner of the Fincham Medal for his work on genetic therapies and now Chair of Retinal Studies at UCL/Institute of Ophthalmology.
The 2015 Master's Medal was awarded to Laura McKernan Ward of Glasgow Caledonian University. Her PhD investigated healthy ageing and the visual cortex using the neuroimaging technique.  She now works in translational health research.